People


Faculty

                          
                          Photo of
Bruce J. Altshuler
Email: bruce.altshuler@nyu.edu
Research/Interest: History of exhibitions, museum studies, modern and contemporary art.

                          
                          Photo of
Jane E Anderson
Email: ja77@nyu.edu
Research/Interest: Property law (spec. intellectual property) and the cultural life of law; coloniality and colonial governance; critical indigenous studies; Indigenous rights and sovereignty; museum studies; repatriation and digital return; cultural property; heritage studies; international organizations; institutional policy; cultural protocols; applied anthropology; transformative practice and ethical frameworks for social change. Americas, South East Asia, Pacific.

                          
                          Photo of
Miriam M. Basilio
Email: miriam.basilio@nyu.edu
Research/Interest: Art, propaganda, cultural property and national identity in Spain, modern Spanish and Latin American art, and the reception of Latin American art in the United States.
Rosanna Flouty
Email: rosanna.flouty@nyu.edu
Research/Interest: Contemporary art, museum practice technology, informal and online education.
Marissa H. Petrou
Email: marissa.petrou@nyu.edu
Research/Interest: Nineteenth and twentieth century social sciences; modern Europe cultural and intellectual history; German Empire; museum studies; history of collections and display; visual and material culture of science; transnational history; history of race and ethnicity.

                          
                          Photo of
Glenn Wharton
Email: glenn.wharton@nyu.edu
Research/Interest: Conservation of cultural materials with specialization in contemporary art and archaeology, public participation in conservation, history and philosophy of conservation.
Faculty Emerita

                          
                          Photo of
Flora E. S. Kaplan
Email: flora.kaplan@nyu.edu
Research/Interest: Non-Western art of Africa and the Americas; material culture, museum studies, political anthropology, ethnography of gender.